Overview of Electrical and Computer Engineering

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering is the largest and one of the oldest academic units within the Bagley College of Engineering at Mississippi State University (MSU) . Housed in the 95,000 square foot Simrall Building, the Department includes 27 faculty members, 10 administrative and research support staff members, and typically 35 to 40 graduate teaching and research assistants.

Educational Programs

The Department conducts undergraduate and graduate educational programs that lead to the Bachelor of Science, Master of Science, and Doctorate degrees in both Electrical and Computer Engineering. The Computer Engineering program is administered jointly with the Department of Computer Science Engineering. Enrollment includes approximately 450 undergraduate students and 175 graduate students. The main emphasis areas within the Department include: Communication Systems, Feedback Control Systems, Microelectronics, Electric Power Systems, Computing Systems, Signal Processing, and Electromagnetic Fields. In addition, the Department offers off-campus video taped graduate courses in Vicksburg, Meridian, and the Stennis Space Center.


Service to government, industry, and the public is available in areas in which research is conducted and other areas in which faculty members have expertise. Short courses are also available on a continual basis, including the Meter School and topical courses such as High Voltage Measurement Techniques.

Research Facilities

Most research in the Department is supported by government or industry. Research facilities include:

Research and Service Activities

Some of the major areas of research and service that have been conducted by Electrical and Computer Engineering faculty are summarized in these sections: