Dr. Reese Receives ECE Outstanding Undergraduate Educator Award

Dr. Reese & Wesley Holland

Dr. Reese is the winner of the 2006 E.C.E. Outstanding Undergraduate Educator award. This honor is awarded annually to an undergraduate professor nominated and selected by E.C.E. undergraduate students. This year's top nominees were Dr. J.W. Bruce, Dr. Robert Reese, and Dr. Noel Schulz. Past winners include Dr. Erdem Topsakal (2004) and Dr. Marion Hagler (2005).

Dr. Reese believes that the "ability to teach yourself and having an appreciation for life-long learning" are important skills that undergraduates should have. Technology advances so fast that aside from fundamentals, specific technological knowledge is obsolete in a few years."

The eligibility requirements for this award are as follows:

  1. The nominee must be an ECE professor or instructor.
  2. The nominee must be currently teaching at least one class at the undergraduate level.
  3. The nominee cannot have won this award in the past two years.

The Electrical and Computer Engineering Student Advisory Council administer this award. This council was formed in the Fall of 2004 with the purpose of fostering a sense of community among the ECE students and faculty. The Outstanding Undergraduate Educator award serves this purpose by recognizing and encouraging outstanding mentorship.