Awards & Recognition - Electrical & Computer Engineering - Bagley College of Engineering - Page 3

Two ECE Seniors Inducted into the BCoE Hall of Fame

Seven undergraduates and a pair of Ph.D. candidates are the newest inductees into Mississippi State University’s Bagley College of Engineering Student Hall of Fame, including two seniors from the ECE department. “It is becoming more and more challenging to select our Student Hall of Fame inductees each year and that is due to the large…

April 14, 2021

ECE Senior Receives NSF Graduate Fellowship

  Zoe Fowler, a senior Electrical Engineering major, was recently awarded a Graduate Fellowship from the National Science Foundation (NSF). The Graduate Research Fellowship Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported STEM disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited US institutions. Zoe’s current research is developing a foreground extraction…

April 7, 2021

ECE Graduate Student Receives BCoE Graduate Research Award

Dylan Boyd, a PhD candidate in Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), was recently named the Bagley College of Engineering and Office of Research and Development (ORED) Graduate Student award winner. The Research Awards Program is designed to honor those individuals who contribute significantly to the University’s mission of research; to recognize and reward students, faculty,…

March 23, 2021

Congratulations for Outstanding Instruction

The Electrical and Computer Engineering Department (ECE) at Mississippi State University would like to recognize our professors, instructors, and teaching assistants who received high marks on their Fall 2020 student evaluations. “With classes being a mixture of face-to-face and virtual, we weren’t sure what to expect. But ECE  instructors continue to go above and beyond…

February 24, 2021

Zhao And Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Colleagues Win Best Paper Award At IEEE PES General Meeting

Dr. Junbo Zhao of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) along with Drs. Shaobu Wang, Renke Huang and Zhenyu Huang from the Pacific Northwest National Lab and Dr. Yu Liu from ShanghaiTech University won the best paper award at the 2020 IEEE Power and Energy Society (PES) General Meeting for their paper entitled…

January 29, 2021

MSU congratulates third annual Community Engagement Award winners

January 11, 2021

Zhao Receives IEEE Best Associate Editor Award

Dr. Junbo Zhao received the 2020 Best Associate Editor Award for the IEEE Transactions on Smart Grid (TSG). In an email notification (official commendation letter to follow), dated December 23, 2020, the Editor in Chief of the IEEE TSG, Dr. Claudio Canizares applauded Dr. Zhao’s outstanding efforts as an associate editor. “IEEE TSG is one…

January 5, 2021

Liu Unlocking the Mysteries of Wireless Networks

In a three-year study funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF), Dr. Chun-Hung Liu will work with his collaborator from the University of Michigan to fundamentally change the design and analysis of wireless networks. Traditionally wireless networks are understood using processes that do not withhold spatial repulsion – most famous of them being Poisson point…

December 17, 2020

Zhao and Argonne National Laboratory Making National Power Grid More Resilient

Dr. Junbo Zhao in close partnership with the Argonne National Laboratory through a three-year project, entitled “Macro-Resiliency of the North American Power Grid,” will aim to make the national power grid more resilient. The project is funded by the U.S. Department of Energy. The main objective of the project is to develop a computationally efficient…

December 14, 2020

Ball and Team Awarded U.S. Patent

Dr. John E. Ball (Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Associate Professor), Dr. Reuben F. Burch V (Industrial and Systems Engineering Assistant Professor), Lucas D. Cagle (ECE graduate and current Ph.D. student), Collin S. Davenport (Mechanical Engineering (ME) graduate and current M.S. student), James R. Gafford (former CAVS research engineer), Tyler J. Hannis (Center for Advanced…

December 14, 2020