Fall Intro to ECE Design 2 Awards

A belated congratulations to Fall 2020’s ECE 1022 Intro to ECE Design 2 winning designs. Our Intro to ECE Design 2 class is generally taken by our ECE students in their second term at MSU. These students spend a semester working through the design process to complete a prototype of their own team design using…

April 19, 2021

ECE Student Leading Solar Decathlon Team

Liam Nelson, a Junior Electrical Engineering major from Madison, Alabama, and his Energy Club teammates are finalists in the Department of Energy’s Solar Decathlon. The Solar Decathlon is a collegiate competition that challenges students to design and build high-performance, low-carbon buildings that mitigate climate change and improve quality of life through greater affordability, resilience, and…

April 16, 2021

Two ECE Seniors Inducted into the BCoE Hall of Fame

Seven undergraduates and a pair of Ph.D. candidates are the newest inductees into Mississippi State University’s Bagley College of Engineering Student Hall of Fame, including two seniors from the ECE department. “It is becoming more and more challenging to select our Student Hall of Fame inductees each year and that is due to the large…

April 14, 2021

ECE Senior Receives NSF Graduate Fellowship

  Zoe Fowler, a senior Electrical Engineering major, was recently awarded a Graduate Fellowship from the National Science Foundation (NSF). The Graduate Research Fellowship Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported STEM disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited US institutions. Zoe’s current research is developing a foreground extraction…

April 7, 2021

ECE Research Seminar (Virtual Event*) – Friday, April 9, 2 – 3 pm

Please plan to join ECE’s next Research Seminar, Friday, April 9 2-3 pm CT on Webex Lifelong Learning: Learn to Memorize and Learn to Recall Bo Tang | Abstract: The impact of modern artificial intelligence (AI) – more specifically, “narrow AI”, which performs objective functions using data-trained models – is everywhere in our society,…

March 26, 2021

Summer and Fall 2021 Course override instructions

Registration for Summer and Fall classes is beginning. It is always worth the effort to ask for an override for a course you need. For courses in other departments you will need to contact the department that offers the class to request an override. Please also note, that the processing of overrides is a manual…

March 23, 2021

ECE Graduate Student Receives BCoE Graduate Research Award

Dylan Boyd, a PhD candidate in Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), was recently named the Bagley College of Engineering and Office of Research and Development (ORED) Graduate Student award winner. The Research Awards Program is designed to honor those individuals who contribute significantly to the University’s mission of research; to recognize and reward students, faculty,…

March 23, 2021

Senior Computer Engineering Major Receives BCoE Undergraduate Research Award

Erin Parker, a senior Computer Engineering major, was recently announced as the Bagley College of Engineering selection for the Office of Research and Development (ORED) Awards Program. The Research Awards Program is designed to honor those individuals who contribute significantly to the University’s mission of research; to recognize and reward students, faculty, and support staff…

March 16, 2021

Fall 2020 Scholars

We are proud to announce that 186 undergraduates from the Electrical and Computer Engineering department were listed as Fall 2020 President’s and Deans’ Scholars. Congratulations to you all. We expect your continued success. Full lists are posted here.   The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Mississippi State University consists of 23 faculty members…

March 5, 2021

ECE and CAVS Distinguished Lecture – Dr. Wende Zhang

AI and Perception for Automated Driving – From Concepts towards Production March 19, 2021 at 2pm (Virtual Event*) Wende Zhang Sensing Systems General Motors

March 3, 2021