ECE’s Fall 2022 Design Showcase Winners Announced

November 30, 2022

Mississippi State University’s Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) held its Fall 2022 Capstone Design Showcase, and the three winning teams were announced this week.

About twenty teams from the department’s ECE Capstone Design I and ECE Capstone Design II classes presented their projects. Students in these courses use their knowledge and skills to incorporate appropriate engineering standards, all while fabricating designs, testing projects, and demonstrating fully functional projects.

The first-place team and winner of the Ed Blakeslee Senior Capstone Design Award was I.C.U. Truckers. Team members include Lane Belk, Klayton Greer, Braden Patridge, Logan Tharp, and Duncan Ziller, and the team’s project advisor was ECE Associate Professor Dr. Mehmet Kurum. The team created I.C.U., which is a blind spot monitoring system for semi-trucks and other large commercial vehicles.




In second place was the Senior Capstone Design group Collide-O-Scope. The group created collision sensors for departments of transportation that indicate when guardrails are damaged in a car accident. Team members are William Clark, Ajaya Dahal, Zach Sahnger, Walker Thames, and Joseph Westerfield. Assistant Professor Dr. Ryan Green served as the team’s faculty advisor.




DisSpicer received third place for its project of an automatic spice dispenser, and its team members include Kolton Blann, Chris Clements, Ethan Marsh, Ben Murphy, and Noah Wright. Assistant Clinical Professor Dr. Umar Iqbal was the team’s advisor.




The first-place team in the ECE Capstone Design course receives the Ed Blakeslee Senior Capstone Design Award and $1,000. The Ed Blakeslee Senior Capstone Design Award was made possible through the generous donation of electrical engineer alumnus Ed Blakeslee.

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Mississippi State University consists of 27 faculty members (including 6 endowed professors), 7 professional staff, and over 700 undergraduate and graduate students with approximately 100 being at the Ph.D. level. With research expenditure of the department in excess of $11.94 million, the department houses the largest High Voltage Laboratory among North American universities.