ECE Faculty Members Earn Outstanding Teaching Awards

May 19, 2021

Dr. Ryan Green, NSBE 2020-2021 President and ECE student Jonathan Cheeks, and Dr. Umar Iqbal at the awards ceremony.

Congratulations to ECE Assistant Professor Ryan Green and Assistant Clinical Professor Umar Iqbal on receiving 2021 Outstanding Teaching Awards from the Mississippi State chapters of National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE) and Increasing Minority Access to Graduate Education (IMAGE).

Angela Verdell, advisor for both groups and Director of Diversity Programs and Student Development in the Bagley College of Engineering, commended the professors for their contributions to helping retain more underrepresented students within engineering and STEM at MSU.

A reception for the two ECE professors, as well as others recognized, was held at the end of the spring semester to celebrate their work in ensuring that students at MSU are engaged learners.

To find out more about Dr. Green and his research, visit his webpage.

For more information about Dr. Iqbal and his research, visit his webpage.

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Mississippi State University consists of 23 faculty members (including 7 endowed professors), 3 clinical faculty, 10 professional and support staff, and over 700 undergraduate and graduate students with approximately 88 being at the Ph.D. level. With research expenditure of the department in excess of $10M, the department houses the largest High Voltage Laboratory among North American Universities. For more detailed information on the department please visit our website