Two Graduate Students Receive Awards to Attend APEC

December 7, 2021

Mark Didat and Kazi Nishat Tasnim, two graduate students in Mississippi State University’s Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, were selected to receive assistance for the Applied Power Electronics Conference (APEC) in 2022.

The two received the Student Attendance Support award for up to $1,000 for expenses related to attending APEC, which is the leading conference for power electronics professionals and one of the largest international conferences in the field.

While in Houston, Texas, for the conference, Didat will present on “Simple, Low Cost, Method for Measuring Single Phase Line Impedance,” and Tasnim will present “A Novel Speed Controller of Ultra-High-Speed PMSM for A-Mechanically-Based-Antenna (AMEBA).”

In its seventeenth year, the student attendance support program, initiated by the Power Sources Manufacturers Association (PSMA), is now jointly underwritten by PSMA and the other co-sponsors of the APEC conference: the IEEE Power Electronics Society (PELS) and the IEEE Industry Applications Society (IAS).

Didat’s research focuses on electromagnetic interference (EMI) performance and the measurement of high-power converter systems. The emergence of power electronic systems designed with wide band-gap semiconductors pose new challenges for compliance, particularly regarding EMI measurement methods, and he is researching new techniques to isolate EMI measurements, reducing the impact of unintentional rounding paths introduced by traditional instrumentation.


Tasnim’s research has been sponsored by the National Science Foundation. She focuses on the control of ultra-high-speed permanent magnet synchronous motors (PMSM) and power electronics drives. PMSMs are gaining popularity for communicating in RF-denied environments through the magnetic field, and she is working on the speed control of the PMSM to transmit the signal efficiently in underwater and underground facilities.

Didat and Tasnim note that they are grateful for the continuous support and guidance of their supervisor, Dr. Seungdeog Choi, an associate professor in the department.

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Mississippi State University consists of 27 faculty members (including 6 endowed professors), 7 professional staff, and over 700 undergraduate and graduate students with approximately 100 being at the Ph.D. level. With research expenditure of the department in excess of $13M, the department houses the largest High Voltage Laboratory among North American universities. For more detailed information on the department, please visit our website